The Beginnings Of Little Brother

On September 17 I had what we think was a high tear in my bag of waters that sealed back up. We assumed labor would start soon so we canceled our dinner plans that night. Nothing started. All week after that I was getting stop & start contractions/cramping, but nothing that seemed “real”. The following Saturday I went to the birth photo exhibit/nurse-in/birth story circle at Artprize. It was amazing and all the pictures and stories made me weepy and nostalgic. During the story time I started getting contractions and they continued as we walked Artprize. Eventually I wanted to go home and mop the floor, sure something was happening. When I nursed WeeMan down to sleep that night, though, they stopped.

Sunday morning I woke up with horrible heartburn. My shifting around in bed woke up WeeMan and he nursed for a while. At about 7am I felt a tinkle of liquid just as I had the weekend before, except that this time the tinkle turned into a never-ending stream. I sat around on the couch, surfing the net for a bit before having my first contraction at 7:45. They stayed six minutes apart for 45 minutes. The contractions were all in my back, but manageable. Then they jumped to three minutes apart, and then two minutes apart. I was swaying and dancing. WeeMan thought it was a game and danced along.

My midwife arrived probably as I was transitioning – contractions were just getting unbearable, I was nauseous and feeling incredibly hot. About 10 minutes (?) after she arrived my contractions changed. I could feel Atticus moving down. She started telling me to take off my underwear quickly (lol) & after just a couple of those contractions, I got on my hands & knees and bent over the couch. One long push spanning two contractions & he came flying out.

Little Brother, 7lbs 6oz 19in, was born after just under two hours of labor ❤

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tania Risko
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 01:02:15

    I can’t wait to see more pictures of him….and see him 🙂 Good job momma proud of you ❤

    Reply

  2. JD
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 01:23:04

    I love birth stories. Made me cry! ❤

    Reply

  3. Lacey
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 15:30:19

    Oh wow, how different than your first! So glad it was shorter! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 01:35:10

    Fantastic birth! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

